Tuesday, 31 January 2012

A fab night out at Chapel Off Chapel with some lovely friends watching an amazing cabaret about Britney Spears.  Yes.  Britney.  It was brilliant!

Monday, 30 January 2012

Spent a lovely evening with the wonderful Bumpa eating tacos, drinking wine, introducing him to the joy of Smash and discussing everything under the sun.  Wonderful!

Sunday, 29 January 2012

Top tip for today:  when using gluten-free flour to make muffins, fill the muffin cases all the way to the top, because the muffins won't rise the way they do with normal flour.  That is all.

Saturday, 28 January 2012

Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy... what a fantastic piece of film-making that was.  Brilliant performances, kept me guessing right up until the last 20 mins or so and such amazing production detail.  Why it's only been nominated for 3 Oscars is beyond me.

Friday, 27 January 2012

Craig Ferguson is in Paris at Shakespeare and Company bookshop... his advice to Sylvia Beach Whitman (the owner) about writing a book is to "write one page a day... in a year you'll have 365 pages... that's a book!". Good advice Craig. Mind if I take it?

Thursday, 26 January 2012

Spent Australia Day on the sofa watching movies... and it was great.

Wednesday, 25 January 2012

Catching up with old friends; meeting new friends; drinking gin; stopping off at Maccas on the way home. Two of these things must end soon.

Tuesday, 24 January 2012

Hmmmm... let's just go for it shall we? Could be fun.

Monday, 23 January 2012

After four years of being in pieces in a ziploc bag; today I finally got around to superglue-ing the lid for Grandma Nell's sugar bowl.  It's not the greatest fix in the world, but then the flatmate who broke it all those years ago did rather a good job of smashing it far and wide and I didn't manage to get quite ALL the pieces... 

Sunday, 22 January 2012

So... in volunteering to help a mate with the auditions for the play he's directing (by being a reader), I've managed to score myself a role (if I want it).  Do I want to start acting again?  Hmmmmm... I think maybe I do.

Saturday, 21 January 2012

Sometimes a day of domestics and a Saturday night in skyping with your o/s friends is good for the soul...

Friday, 20 January 2012

Ahhhh weekend.  You arrived bang on time.  Very much looking forward to a Saturday sleep-in... and perhaps a movie!

Thursday, 19 January 2012

Tonight I was lucky enough to be given a ticket to see this show.  One man, dressed as a man, seated at a grand piano, singing the songs and telling the story of Madonna, AS Madonna.  One of the best things I've seen in ages. Love, love, loved it.

Wednesday, 18 January 2012

If today was an animal, it would be a snail. Soooooo slow.

Tuesday, 17 January 2012

Everything on the 'to-do' list ticked off, plus a lovely dinner with some old family friends... I'm calling today a win.  Not an epic win, but a win nonetheless.

Monday, 16 January 2012

Going back to work today has strengthened my resolve to find a new job... and soon!

Sunday, 15 January 2012

Back to life (Melbourne); back to reality (work). Yay to the former; boo to the latter!

Saturday, 14 January 2012

Today is my god-daughter's 6th birthday. Since her mother has cut off all contact with the entire family (for reasons only known to her), I am unable to wish her a happy birthday personally. I very much hope next year I'll be able to, but for this year... Happy Birthday Piper J! I love you! x

Friday, 13 January 2012

"I'm having second doubts" and "Are you into triples?". Haven't laughed so much in ages. What an awesome night out with old mates.

Thursday, 12 January 2012

Loving all these catch ups with old friends... face-to-face beats Facebook hands down for finding out what your friends have been up to for the last [x] years.

Wednesday, 11 January 2012

Took my nieces to their first ever theatrical production today...

Tuesday, 10 January 2012

A very enjoyable evening with my nieces playing Monopoly... they learnt that board games can be just as much fun as electronic games!

Monday, 9 January 2012

Awesome Monday night catch up dinner with Sister Fanny/The Katster... we haven't seen each other that frequently since our travel adventures through the UK, Turkey and Greece in the mid-90s, but we just picked up where we left off... love those kind of friendships.

Sunday, 8 January 2012

Kooky things discovered whilst clearing out cupboards at LB's... an old pipe of my great-grandfather's. What WAS he thinking??

Saturday, 7 January 2012

The Scouse Brow has hit Adelaide... between that and the dodgy fashion choices, I feel like I'm trapped in The Only Way Is Essex.

Friday, 6 January 2012

Hanging out at the beach with my nieces is always a good way to start the day.

Thursday, 5 January 2012

Random things I've learned to do without the aid of anyone: Put sunscreen on my back. All of it.

Wednesday, 4 January 2012

Study is 90% decluttered. Huzzah! In other news... Adelaide women appear to have a fascination for wearing skimpy frocks with ankle boots in 39 degree heat. Fashion fail.

Tuesday, 3 January 2012

Study decluttering is taking far longer than I intended... although I did find my old Reebok hi-tops (circa 1986) and they still fit... WIN!

Monday, 2 January 2012

Finally, a cool change after back-to-back 40+ degree days... I might get a good night's sleep at last!

Sunday, 1 January 2012

Breakfast at the beach, a stroll along the jetty, a couple of hours at work, an afternoon of swimming in Shelley's pool and a Skype chat with Pats, Eddi and the two blondes make for a fab start to 2012!