Monday, 30 April 2012

When I went to the Alexander McQueen 'Savage Beauty' exhibition (twice!) in NYC last year, I desperately wanted to buy the accompanying book, but lacked (a) the funds; and (b) the luggage space required (it's heavy!).  I did buy the poster though, which I've framed and hung in my bedroom - it's the first thing I look at when I wake up of a morning and I love it.  

Today I walked past my local bookstore and sitting in the window was the book... the very last copy they had.  




So it's come home with me.  I'm considering it my early, early birthday present to myself.

[does a happy jig]

Sunday, 29 April 2012

A lovely long sleep in and planning a whole Artist's Date DAY to see the Grace Kelly exhibition in Bendigo, when the play is finished.  Sunday mornings are the best.

Saturday, 28 April 2012

Brunch with Bridgi, cookie baking and WITW tasks and a disco nap. Now it's off to the theatre for show #9... half way!

Friday, 27 April 2012

Just got the early train home, with 2 mins to spare. Will be home at midnight. Bam!

Thursday, 26 April 2012

Where I am right at this moment...

Wednesday, 25 April 2012

My first ever dawn service in the pouring rain. Lest We Forget.

Tuesday, 24 April 2012

Found a fascinating essay on writing for children by C.S. Lewis today... in which he states "Those of us who are blamed when old for reading childish books were blamed when children for reading books too old for us.  No reader worth his salt trots along in obedience to a time-table."  Describes me to a tee...

Monday, 23 April 2012

A relaxing, yet fairly productive day.  I like those... why don't I have more of them?

Sunday, 22 April 2012

Home before 10pm... love the Sunday show!  Time for a bath and finishing off this week's Walking In This World tasks... then bed.  Ahhhh, bed.

Saturday, 21 April 2012

Whilst I am grateful that one of my lovely co-stars drives me into the city after each show so I can get the train home, I am really tired of having to rely on others to be able to get home.  Hiring a car for the next fortnight would be awesome... ridiculously expensive, but awesome.  Ah well.  It's only a fortnight.

Friday, 20 April 2012

Would very much like a head, neck and shoulder massage. Right. Now.

Thursday, 19 April 2012

Coffee with Lara and drawing butterflies and sticking princesses on paper with three year old Lotts has helped calm the butterflies in my tummy for opening night tonight.

Wednesday, 18 April 2012

Today's arrival from The Book Depository!

Tuesday, 17 April 2012

This is how I roll.  Most days.


Monday, 16 April 2012

Today I took a detour on the way to the supermarket... via the house owned by my great-grandparents in the late 1800s/early 1900s.

Sunday, 15 April 2012

Tech today... a very, very, very long day.  However not too many tempers lost so it was quite enjoyable!

Saturday, 14 April 2012

Pyjama day! A long sleep in, some writing, some craft work, finished the filing and made a yummy dinner. Calling it a win.

Friday, 13 April 2012

Took a detour on the way home so I could pick up some bath bombs at Lush... looking forward to soaking in the tub tonight!

Thursday, 12 April 2012

Eight tubs of pumpkin soup and two of chilli con carne in the freezer ready for those "OMG I'm too tired to cook" moments I will no doubt have when the play opens.

Wednesday, 11 April 2012

Left rehearsal before notes were finished - to the director's extreme annoyance.  Too. Frickin'. Bad.  He knows how far away I live and that if I don't make the last train home I'm screwed.  It's not my issue if half the cast are pathetically show at getting changed and then like to discuss every note he gives them.  Notes should never take an entire hour or if they do, the director needs to re-think their process.

Tuesday, 10 April 2012

Looking forward to an EARLY night for a change...

Monday, 9 April 2012

I thought we might actually be finished at a decent time tonight, seeing as we started an hour earlier... unfortunately notes went for AN HOUR, so it's another post-midnight bedtime for me. Aaaaarrgh!! Now I'm going to be knackered for the rest of the week...

Sunday, 8 April 2012

I'd forgotten how loooooong the rehearsals before tech week take... still here at the theatre having been here since 2.30pm. Neeeeeeed sleeeeeeep.

Saturday, 7 April 2012

A massive day out with Shell and the boys... aquarium, shopping, playing the giant chess set at lunch, swimming and dinner on a boat cruising the bay.  Love my friends.

Friday, 6 April 2012

A huge sleep-in, lunch with my gorgeous niece and her boyfriend who are visiting Melbourne for the weekend and a 3 hour disco nap in the afternoon.  Perfect.

Thursday, 5 April 2012

Just walked out the door from Job #2 knowing I don't have to ever go back there again (to work anyway!).  Feel like a huge boulder's been lifted from my shoulders!

Wednesday, 4 April 2012

Worked at the Tony Bennett pre-show function tonight.  The man is in his mid-80s and still tours the world sharing his voice with an adoring public.  Phenomenal.  Hope I'm that sprightly when I'm his age.

Tuesday, 3 April 2012

Coffee and shopping with Lara - done and enjoyed; shoes sold via eBay - posted; house - clean; bed sheets - changed; laundry (four loads) - done; Walking in This World week 6 - completed; WITW blog post for yesterday and today - posted.  Time for dinner and a spot of Smash!

Monday, 2 April 2012

Act 1 scene changes sorted, Act 1 run in its entirety with no major mishaps. We rock.

Sunday, 1 April 2012

Open rehearsal today... ran all of Act 1 in front of an audience.  My scenes were shite, and that's being generous... however there are two other people in my scenes and one of them isn't pulling her weight.  I am forcing her into a line run tomorrow whether she likes it or not (so far, she's declined to do them, preferring to natter away to other people about non-show related stuff instead). Grrrr.  Rant over.