Saturday, 30 June 2012

NYC Girls' Reunion: loads of champers, dinner at Felix, brief drink at the Ivy and karaoke at the Pickled Possum. This about sums up Saturday night...

Friday, 29 June 2012

It's always fascinating to watch a director act... especially when you're watching it with five castmates from the production he just directed you in!   ;)

Thursday, 28 June 2012

Mid-afternoon movie date with a mate... The Cabin In The Woods.  My adoration of Bradley Whitford knows no bounds.  He. Is. Hysterical.

Wednesday, 27 June 2012





I vividly remember the first time I went to the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York City.  It was 1995.  It was winter, but the skies were blue.  I walked alongside the Temple of Dendur and re-enacted this scene (in my head, since I was alone!) and did a little (internal) dance of glee that I was standing in the very same spot where Meg & Billy spoke those words from the movie that, to this day, remains one of my favourites.

Today, the writer of those words, Nora Ephron, passed away.  Vale Nora.  And thank you.

Tuesday, 26 June 2012

The more I think about it (and talk to others about it), the more ticked off I am.  Not that I didn't get a role, but that I was told so VIA TEXT MESSAGE.  Lame, lame, lame.  I thought he was my friend.

That's all I've got to say about that.  Rant over.

Monday, 25 June 2012

Monday night fabric cutting in preparation for Wednesday night's Stitch'n'Bitch.

Sunday, 24 June 2012

You win some, you lose some.

Translation:

Didn't get the gig.

Saturday, 23 June 2012

Nailed the monologue.  Didn't disgrace myself in the callback.  Saw an absolute legend of musical theatre in his one-man show.  Heading to bed exhausted and happy.

Friday, 22 June 2012

A lovely evening with my gorgeous friend, her sister in law and one of her friends, watching a mutual friend's play.  Helped (briefly) take my mind off tomorrow's audition!

Thursday, 21 June 2012

Apart a couple of hours doing craft with the Jnr Harrys (and having Glee cupcakes!), the day has been spent in a hangover-induced fog.  Not ideal, when I wanted to spend it preparing for Saturday's audition!

Wednesday, 20 June 2012

A very different birthday to last year's, that's for sure.  A solo movie morning (The Way - loved it), home hair colouring in the afternoon and too many gingerbread martinis with the GBFs in the evening... oh and I walked home from the city because being on the tram made me feel woozy.

Tuesday, 19 June 2012

An earthquake in Melbourne tonight... 5.2 on the scale.  A tiddler really, but enough to get the windows rattling and ground shaking!

Monday, 18 June 2012

Have barely moved from the sofa since I got home. Knackered, I am... and it's only Monday.

Sunday, 17 June 2012

A sleep in, finishing the tax spreadsheet, a two hour skype with the Belgium Bestie and lots and lots of tea.  That was my Sunday.

Saturday, 16 June 2012

Tonight I saw a play called Ruby Moon, performed in a tiny little 36-seat space in Richmond with a tiny budget.  Sometimes the best theatre is the kind which forces you to look beyond big budgets and fancy sets and perfect costumes and just focus solely on the words as spoken by the performers.  The writing of this piece was good, but in the hands of the two utterly convincing performers it was superb.

Friday, 15 June 2012

Bruising. The gift that keeps on giving. #resultofsaturday'sstack #whyamisoclumsy #luckyit'swinter

Thursday, 14 June 2012

An afternoon with friends at the new Napoleon exhibition at the art gallery and an evening at the theatre watching two of my favourite people performing in Macbeth.

Wednesday, 13 June 2012

Tuesday, 12 June 2012

That awesome feeling when you find that play, with that character, with that incredible monologue, which ticks all the boxes for an audition you need to prepare for... wow.  Thank you Jon Robin Baitz.

Monday, 11 June 2012

Home, sweet home after five days in Tasmania.  Was a lovely weekend with lovely friends visiting lovely places - topped off by a visit to magnificent Port Arthur today.

Sunday, 10 June 2012

I think it will be an enforced early night tonight... we're in Sticksville and everything is closed!

Saturday, 9 June 2012

Did a massive (totally sober) stack on the streets of Launceston on our way to dinner... bent the new glasses, tore a huge hole in my new leggings and have a massively swollen knee. Winner. Not.

Friday, 8 June 2012

Spent the day at Mona (Museum of Old and New Art)... so cool.

Thursday, 7 June 2012

Hobart cafés... hipster or quirky? Whatever it is, I love it.

Wednesday, 6 June 2012

Venus in transit this morning... the brightest sunshine I've seen in ages.  Felt the love.  A cancelled play this evening gave me a chance to catch up with two old cast-mates. Was a fascinating conversation!

Tuesday, 5 June 2012

Watching the Diamond Jubilee Concert from Buckingham Palace and missing London. Loads.

Monday, 4 June 2012

Today would have been the 40th birthday of my friend Steve, who took his own life earlier this year.  It breaks my heart that he decided no life was better than the one he had, but I hope wherever he is now he's happy, free of pain and knows that we will always love and remember him.  Happy Birthday Stevo.

Sunday, 3 June 2012

Saw a production of Oliver this afternoon, which one of my friends was in... was seated next to a girl of about 10 who was with her dad... the same age I was when my dad took me to see Oliver for the first time. Bittersweet memories.

Saturday, 2 June 2012

Really wishing I was in the UK this weekend...

Friday, 1 June 2012

Mmmmmm... free ticket to the Good Food & Wine Festival, where there was a 'Cheese Alley' and I joined a 'Cheese Club' (like a wine club, but instead of home delivery of wine you get home delivery of hand-made cheese).  Heaven on a Friday night in Melbourne.