Monday, 31 August 2015

If you're going to spend half the day working, then it's preferable to do so when your desk is outdoors and your view is of the gorgeous Tuscan countryside...

Sunday, 30 August 2015

That moment when your friend's friend, who you've never met but is joining you for part of your vacation, treats you like a piece of crap...




Saturday, 29 August 2015

Bye Edinburgh... I'll miss you (again!). Tuscany here we come!

Friday, 28 August 2015

Library of the decade goes to the Edinburgh Napier University Sighthill campus library. Five floors, all with floor to ceiling windows that look out over Edinburgh Castle and Arthur's Seat. Also, my favourite thing ever - the floors are sectioned in to "Group Work - you can chat" on level 1, through to "Absolute Silence - no talking, no phones, no eating" on level 5. Needless to say, I was on level 5 and LOVING IT.

Thursday, 27 August 2015

Next time I get the bright idea to study while I'm supposed to be on holiday, please whack me upside the head. This essay is killing me, when all I want to be doing is seeing EdFest shows and catching up with old mates.

Wednesday, 26 August 2015

Walked past the coffee shop in Edinburgh where JK Rowling (apparently) wrote much of the first Harry Potter book today. I've been there several times but it still gives me a little thrill!

Tuesday, 25 August 2015

My travel companion and I have decided that all the good looking men in Scotland reside in Glasgow.

Eye.

Candy.

Galore.

Monday, 24 August 2015

I feel like there is no such thing as this bloody shortbread press LB wants me to buy her in Scotland. Not a single bloody shop stocks them.

Sunday, 23 August 2015

Four-show Edinburgh Fringe day... all fantastic in their totally different ways (but only three pictured here!)

Saturday, 22 August 2015

We are killing it on the step front on this trip - averaging more than 20,000 steps (around 15km) per day. Of course, my feet have swollen to the size of watermelons and I have numerous blisters, but hey ho.

Friday, 21 August 2015

Back in beautiful Edinburgh. It's Festival season, so it's mad, but it's still gorgeous.

Thursday, 20 August 2015

Jam-packed day at the V&A, Big Ben, Houses of Parliament, Westminster Abbey, Tate Modern and Donmar Warehouse. 12kms walked. Cream crackered.

Wednesday, 19 August 2015

Fellow traveller left her laptop in an Uber last night... cue visit to the Apple store!

Tuesday, 18 August 2015

Happy (would-have-been) 79th Birthday, Dada. x

Monday, 17 August 2015

Two early morning runs in three days... not exactly how I thought my vacation would kick off...

Sunday, 16 August 2015

Love, love, love catching up with my cousin Sara. She's the best. (And her son, Theo, is the cutest kid ever).

Saturday, 15 August 2015

Loving the Kenneth Rowntree exhibition at Pallant House Gallery in Chichester. Small, but beautiful.

Friday, 14 August 2015

I already know I'm the world's worst sleeper, but putting me on a 23 hour flight takes it to a whole new level. 1.5 hours sleep the entire time. Ugh, ugh, ugh. Next time Emirates offer to upgrade me to business class for an extra $1K, I'm going to take it.

Thursday, 13 August 2015

Leavin' on a jet plane... Europe, are you ready?!

Wednesday, 12 August 2015

Managed to get most things ticked off the to-do list... except study. Must. Learn. To. Prioritise. It.

Tuesday, 11 August 2015

This assignment isn't going to write itself... but I'm so tired I can't even read anymore.

Monday, 10 August 2015

21 years ago today... that's almost half my life. Miss you, Dad.

Sunday, 9 August 2015

Everything is taking three times longer than I'd planned it to. This does not bode well for having my assignment finished before I fly out on Thursday, let alone cleaning my house or finishing my work...

Saturday, 8 August 2015

I may not have crossed much of my to-do list today, but at least I've packed.
#SmallVictories

Friday, 7 August 2015

I don't know quite what kind of magic my acupuncturist performed yesterday afternoon, but I've had THE most productive work-from-home day I've had in weeks. Let's hope it lasts into the weekend because I've got a shitload to do before I fly out on Thursday.

Thursday, 6 August 2015

I think Trainwreck may just be my favourite movie of the year. Even if it does slide a little too close to home for me (or maybe that's why). 

Wednesday, 5 August 2015

Our 'virtual classrooms' for my Lit subject are the best. Having other's perspectives on a text is so useful. One of the only downsides of being an 'off-campus' student is the lack of interaction.

Tuesday, 4 August 2015

In bed at 9pm. I'm either getting sick (although I refuse to - I don't have time!), or I just need a night off from the craziness of work/study/work/study/work.

Monday, 3 August 2015

I haven't watched Q&A in months, but the minute I found out Neil deGrasse Tyson was on it, I was glued. The other panelists were brilliant too. Most intelligent, well-mannered, insightful panel they've had in years. 

Sunday, 2 August 2015

OK, so I'm mostly organised for the holiday... now to get my shit together for work and study, so I can actually, you know, relax a bit while I'm away.

Saturday, 1 August 2015

If you're a writer, you need to see this film. Even if you're not, you should see it. It's flawless.*






* I've never been a fan of Jason Segal, but his performance is exceptional. Plus, Anna Chlumsky and Joan Cusack are in it so you know, awesome women.