Wednesday, 30 September 2015

Lay down at 1pm "for an hour", woke up at 7pm.

Heading back to bed again now.

Grrrrr, jet lag. Imma gonna give you this battle.

Tuesday, 29 September 2015

Made it through a whole day at work and even managed to pick up some food on the way home. Still going to be in bed by 9pm though... which is unheard of for me.

Monday, 28 September 2015

Lasted until 3pm at work then crashed. Hard. Jet lag sucks.

Sunday, 27 September 2015

LGW - DXB - MEL

Long-haul flights are a killer.

Saturday, 26 September 2015

Last real day of my six-week vacation... tomorrow begins the long journey back to Melbs. Boo. 

Friday, 25 September 2015

Of course, London, you turn on the most glorious sunset to farewell me. Twist that damn knife to remind me that I don't live in you anymore.


Thursday, 24 September 2015

Bid farewell to my travel companion of the last six weeks this morning - she headed for Berlin and I headed back to Antwerp, via Efteling.

THEME. PARK. CHEESINESS.

Hilarious. So many roller coasters and kitsch rides, so little time.

Wednesday, 23 September 2015

Final day in Amsterdam. My holiday is coming to an end and I'm already feeling those post-holiday blues creeping up on me...

Tuesday, 22 September 2015

Amsterdam, Day 2.

4 Museums:

Anne Frank, Van Gogh, Stedelijk and Rejks.

SO. FREAKIN. EXHAUSTED.

Monday, 21 September 2015

Amsterdam, you are lovely. Your Sex Museum is also quite hilarious. And disturbing.

Sunday, 20 September 2015

Off to Amsterdam at sparrow's tomorrow and I have a ton of work to do beforehand... guess I'll be sleeping in the car!

Saturday, 19 September 2015

At the farmers' market in Antwerp, you can choose any ten cheeses for just €20.  SO. GOOD.

Friday, 18 September 2015

Oh hallo, Château Blanc, my favourite Belgian chocolate shop. I have missed you so.

Thursday, 17 September 2015

OK so that dinner nearly broke the budget, but it was worth it. Food porn galore.

Also, it's my faux-son's 7th birthday and I totally indoctrinated him into the Hawks family with his own jersey. He needs something to balance out being a Chelsea supporter.

Wednesday, 16 September 2015

Au revoir Paris; hallo Antwerp. It's been a while.

Tuesday, 15 September 2015

Finally visited Père Lachaise today and made a stop at the grave of Jim Morrison. After all, he was the one whose story inspired me to escape my stifling Adelaide existence and travel the world twenty years ago. I thought I owed him at least a thank you visit.

Monday, 14 September 2015

Just leave me at Shakespeare & Company for the rest of my life and I'll be happy as a clam.

Sunday, 13 September 2015

Went to the flea markets, spotted the Olsen Twins.

Mic. 

Dropped.

Just kidding. We've agreed if that's the best we can do celeb spotting Paris then the place really has lost its mojo.

Saturday, 12 September 2015

Arrivederci Italy; bonjour Paris. So sad to leave the former, so excited to be re-visiting the latter.

Friday, 11 September 2015

And then there were three and we discovered San Gimignano.

OH.
MY.
GOD.

Heavenly.


Thursday, 10 September 2015

Our time in Tuscany is almost done. It's so relaxed here, even though I've had to work and do a load of study. Can't I just stay forever?!

Wednesday, 9 September 2015

Thought I was going to have a nice peaceful day to myself while the newbies explored Florence. Not to be. Oh well.

Tuesday, 8 September 2015

A return to Pisa for airport collection and I managed to re-take the 'holding up the Leaning Tower' photo. Sometimes, you just gotta be a shameless tourist.


And yes, I totally hashtag-ed that.

Monday, 7 September 2015

Where I spent my afternoon... 



Cinque Terre, Italy. Total Euro cliche come to life, lying on a sunbed on a pebbled beach. Loved it.

Sunday, 6 September 2015

We've been playing a lot of Heads Up this holiday... is everyone useless at the 'Hey Mr DJ' round or is it just me?

Saturday, 5 September 2015

Midway point of the Tuscan adventure - we've farewelled two of the gang and welcomed two newbies, who are both AWESOME.

Friday, 4 September 2015

Last full day with one of my favourite ladies, who I only see about every 7 years. God I miss living in the same city as her.

Thursday, 3 September 2015

Siena Cathedral. We climbed almost all the way to the top of the dome in the background... STUNNING.

I'm so in love with Italy.

Wednesday, 2 September 2015

A day of doing nothing but move from the villa to the pool and back again, followed by an awesome dinner out in the local village, where the view is amazing and a bottle of prosessco costs just €11. Montaione (Florence, Italy) we heart you.

Tuesday, 1 September 2015

Day trip to Florence... climbed a bell tower (despite my fear of heights!), had the most amazing lunch, found a gorgeous leather handbag, walked across the Ponte Vecchio and ate the most enormous melon gelato. Love, love, loving Italy.