Monday, 29 February 2016

My "de-clutter everything in sight" obsession has spread to my new office. My colleagues have adopted my "why is it here? do we need it? no? chuck it." habit with gusto.

Sunday, 28 February 2016

Saturday, 27 February 2016

Sleeping and reading. That's about all I've done. All day. And I'm still not through Middlemarch.

Friday, 26 February 2016

Booze, bleaching, and Broad City. An excellent Friday night on the north side.

Thursday, 25 February 2016

Some would call it throwing my toys out of the pram... I prefer to call it ceasing to be a total pushover.

"Not. Your. Lackey." is my new work mantra.

Wednesday, 24 February 2016

Today was gearing up to suck balls big time, but then I got the most wonderful voicemail from an old friend I hadn't heard from in a year and the ensuing discussion perked me up no end... especially with the news that he's moving closer to Melbs!

Also, there was cheese at a colleague's farewell afternoon tea. More specifically, this cheese:



All cheese makes me happy, but this one in particular makes me super happy.

Tuesday, 23 February 2016

Well that was a day that just got worse as it went on.

I mean, #FirstWorldProblems, but seriously, FML right now.

Monday, 22 February 2016

As if my week wasn't busy enough, today my manager drops the bombshell on me that I have to move office. For the third time in two months. On Thursday.

Internally, I was all:



While outwardly, I was:



And for the rest of the day I was:



THE. BUSIEST. WEEK. EVER. JUST GOT BUSIER.

Sunday, 21 February 2016

It's not lost on me that I just used the exercise on procrastination in my writing subject as procrastination for finishing the novel I need to read for my lit subject.

Sheesh.

Saturday, 20 February 2016

Chances of me finishing Middlemarch before lectures start? Pretty good, if I don't sleep for the next two days.


Friday, 19 February 2016

It's been 10 years since I was banned from wearing contact lenses (you can read about the whole damn iritis saga here, here, or here) but today the eye specialist finally gave me the go-ahead to start wearing them again. Sometimes. Not all the time, but I'll take what I can get.


Thursday, 18 February 2016

I love that I can go to my acupuncturist and ask for Kyuto Shin because I just like the smell, and she doesn't think I'm a weirdo.

Also, it's very relaxing.

Wednesday, 17 February 2016

At this rate I'll never finish Middlemarch by Monday. Unless I don't, you know, sleep for the next 4 days.

Tuesday, 16 February 2016

Sometimes, you just need a Doona Day.

Today was that day.

Monday, 15 February 2016

Yet another "planning day".

At least there was alcohol at the end of this one. And cheese.


Sunday, 14 February 2016

What better way to spend Valentine's Day than clearing out your study, shredding like a Nixon staffer during Watergate, heckling the imbecile nominees at the Republican debate, and curling up on the sofa with a good book?*


*If you're single, that is. Even if I was coupled up, I'd still probably prefer this though.

Friday, 12 February 2016

I love it when my days off coincide with US political events like the DemDebate. Even more now that O'Malley's dropped out, so he's not wasting Hillz' valuable air time. 

Thursday, 11 February 2016

Wednesday, 10 February 2016

Not the result in New Hampshire I was hoping for... damn.


This article speaks for me on many levels.

Tuesday, 9 February 2016

So the essay which I bashed out at 3am (three hours late), which made no sense whatsoever to me, just scored me 86%. A high distinction.

I'm completely at a loss as to know how that happened.




Baffled.

Monday, 8 February 2016

What on earth did we do during mind-shatteringly-dull work conference sessions before the advent of the smartphone? 

Thank god for tech, or I would never have made it through the day. 

Sunday, 7 February 2016

Halfway through the penultimate episode of The Affair and I can't take it anymore. They're all arsehats, I don't care who killed Scotty, and I'm done. Switching to Agent Carter for a kick-ass, female role-model with actual, you know, morals and values.

Saturday, 6 February 2016

Still on a massive decluttering kick... today it was the linen cupboard. Tomorrow, the study.

#ClearlyInNeedOfALife 

Friday, 5 February 2016

Going to bed at 9pm on a Friday because I'm THAT exhausted.

What a gripping life I do lead.*








* Bonus points if you can name the movie that quote is lifted from.


Thursday, 4 February 2016

My acupuncturist is going on a year's sabbatical.



On the upside, it coincides with the return of my original acupuncturist who is finally returning to Australia after 18 months studying overseas.


Wednesday, 3 February 2016

The stack of books I have to read before trimester starts in two weeks is getting out of hand...



Also, this article expresses all my feelings about yesterday's Iowa caucus. 

Tuesday, 2 February 2016

An all-day team planning session at work when you got to bed at 2am? Not fun.

Monday, 1 February 2016

So, Grease Live was one of the best things I've seen in ages. So. Much. Fun.